Why I do this

Every once in awhile, when I haven’t been getting many views, or I look at blogs that started more recently than mine and already have hundreds of followers, I start to panic. I get all desperate and start thinking “what am I doing wrong? How can I get more people to find me?” It’s easy to fall into that kind of thinking – having the motivation for your blog turn into getting views. When that happens, I have to remind myself why I started this blog in the first place and why I’m still going. I’m trying to inspire myself, think of new combinations and ideas, make my wardrobe more interesting, and do more with it. I’m doing it to inspire myself to wear clothes that make me feel confident. If I inspire anyone else along the way, well, that’s just an added benefit.
It snowed today (that’s all I’m saying about the weather – I promise), but my longing for spring colors could not be satiated. I’d never thought this dress could be brought into cold weather, but with tights and a pull-over sweater, I think it worked. I’ve been kind of obsessed with lavender lately too, so I was glad I had the chance to wear this scarf.
ImageImageImageImageImageImage

I’ll leave you with the acoustic version of Katy Perry’s The One that Got Away, which I’m rather obsessed with.

Sweater: Old Navy.
Dress: Thrifted.
Scarf: Gift.
Tights: Found in my drawer.
Shoes: Marshalls.
Bracelet: Gift?
Earrings: Kohls.

(Oh, and I wouldn’t mind it if you followed me on Facebook or Bloglovin. ;))

11 thoughts on “Why I do this

  1. So loving floral right now! Crazy about the snow! Blogging is about fun and the people you get connected with. I used to fixate on the followers thing, but realize now it’s not about the numbers, and thinking about that definitely takes the fun out of it.
    Ginny
    mynewfavoriteoutfit.blogspot.com

  2. Aw, don’t get discouraged! I do that too sometimes. But remember sometimes a lot of those followers are the “follow me and I’ll follow back.” It’s so much more rewarding when the people who follow your blog actually read it as opposed to just having a large number of followers. Now I only follow blogs that I genuinely like!

    http://findingmyinspiration.blogspot.com/

  3. i feel the same way about my blog sometime! it’s good to remember why you started it and try not to feel pressure about numbers and other people! love the color of your scarf!

  4. You are not alone in feeling like that! I think all bloggers often feel ‘down’ on their blogs and wonder why they don’t have more traffic, and it’s hard not to compare yourself. Like you said, just remember why you started and have fun playing with your closet!! I love finding new ways to wear old clothes. You look great in lavender πŸ™‚

  5. you are not alone! I feel like that all the time. I look at follower counts and I go…how did that happen for them? What could I do better? But I remind myself that the readers I do have are amazing, and those are the people that count, not the people that don’t read, ya know?

  6. Such a nice printed dress – I like the colours in this outfit πŸ™‚

    When it comes down to it, like you said you can choose why you blog. Some people blog to get followers, some people blog just to share and get inspiration/tips from others. There is no right or wrong way to do it, just do what makes you happy as in the end that’s all that matters πŸ™‚

    Away From Blue

I'd love to get to know you - leave me a comment!

