I think I must be Odd.

For a girl, that is. For example, I’m not even slightly interested in any sort of crafts, sewing, etc. I don’t think I own more than 3 pieces of clothing that are pink. I don’t do floral. I’m not particularly interested in flowers – I like to observe them from a distance, but I don’t want to have anything to with bringing them about or caring for them. And that’s also exactly how I feel about children.
And on the other hand, I like playing sports – the few that I’m slightly good at, that is. I’d rather watch football than a movie, any day. Action flicks are one of my favorite movie genres. I at least try to take interest in politics. Not that those are things that girls can’t do; it’s just that they’re usually associated with guys, and most of the girls I know don’t do them.
But in many ways, I’m still very much a girl. I still watch chick flicks and embarrass people by how loudly I squeal in movie theaters when certain (male) actors come on screen. I love high heels and jewelry, makeup and nail polish. I listen to Ingrid Michaelson and *gasp* Taylor Swift. I keep a diary. But while I love to occasionally throw on some lace and heels, I’m always going to feel most comfortable in a baggy button-down, skinny jeans, and oxfords.

And despite all that, I’m not wearing a particularly girly OR menswear inspired outfit. A roomy button-down, yes – but, also wedges. Thinking about it, I suppose that actually portrays what this whole post ends up saying. I’m very in-between. I like a little bit of both.
I kind of cheated for this post, because I didn’t actually go anywhere today, in this outfit. But I liked what I was wearing and I haven’t been posting much, so here you go! I think this outfit was subconsciously inspired by a beautiful What I Wore post that I admired recently. I love staying classic but switching it up a little, with the chambray on top and the white on the bottom. Then I stole my mom’s shoes and a necklace I haven’t worn in a while, to finish it all off.

ImageImage
My sister, as she took my pictures: “You look kind of pregnant.”
Me: “That’s okay.”
What did I say about baggy button-downs?
ImageImageImageImageImage

Shirt: Old Navy. Similar
Shorts: Old Navy. Similar
Shoes: Famous Footwear, I believe.
Necklace: From a secondhand store.
Watch: My sister’s.

7 thoughts on “I think I must be Odd.

  1. I know what you mean! I am very in between as well. As much as I like wearing beautiful dresses and doing my hair and makeup, I prefer action movies, love classic cars and I like paintball and camping. And to top it off I collect teacups…and swords. So yeah, I’m all over the place too!

  2. Eh, you’re not odd. And what if you are? We’re all odd in our own ways. A lot of us are “in-between” because you can’t always pigeon-hole people into one category.
    Thanks for dropping by my blog, I’ll be sure to visit yours often as well!

I'd love to get to know you - leave me a comment!

