Everything Happens For a Reason.

Nearly anyone you ask would agree with the premise in my post title, but I honestly and wholeheartedly believe it, in every aspect of my life. I’ve always assumed I believed it, but it’s been just recently that I’ve actually started seeing it clearly. Some of the biggest things that happened to me in the last year, things that had me literally asking “Why?!”, suddenly became clear. And that’s such a relief. Now, as soon as something happens that I don’t understand or that hurts, I tell myself that someday – maybe a week, maybe a month, maybe years – someday, I will realize why it happened and why it was actually for my good. It doesn’t stop the bad thing from hurting, but it promises relief, it promises answers. And sometimes, when the answers don’t come, you just have to trust that they are there even if you can’t see them. Believing that makes life, not easier, but easier to bear.
I wore this outfit to a play that I went to see with some friends. The skirt is actually a dress, and because it’s shorter and more form-fitting that most of the things I wear, I decided to balance that out with a over-sized button-down.
ImageImageImage

Dress: Thrifted, originally from Kohls, I think.
Shirt: Old Navy.
Flip Flops: Famous Footwear. Found here
Necklace: Thrifted.
Earrings and Bracelet: Gifts.

6 thoughts on “Everything Happens For a Reason.

  1. I used to think that everything happens for a reason too, but lately I’ve been more and more skeptical of that. I can see what you say about it making life easier to bear though.

    I like the color of the shirt paired with the skirt, maybe you can try knotting the shirt to give the outfit more shape? I know that’s a totally “blogger cliche” thing, but it can look good when done right.

    • I thought of doing that, but I kind of liked the contrast in shape between the shirt and the dress – it may have not turned out right, though. These pictures certainly didn’t capture it as well as I would have liked.

  2. I have to agree (even when I hate it) that there are reasons behind events even when we don’t get it. Someday we will most of the time, others I guess are life lessons? You went to a play? I am so boring.

I'd love to get to know you - leave me a comment!

