Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas.

I have a theory about Christmas; you know when you’re very young and Christmas is the all-time most exciting thing ever? You’re always looking forward to it, and when it comes, it’s a ginormous deal. And then one Christmas, you’re still looking forward to it just as much as before, but when it’s come and gone, you realize that it didn’t feel like Christmas at all. It felt empty; it was a letdown. You have hopes for next year, that it will turn around and be like it was before, but no – it’s still empty. Maybe that happens for a few more years, and you resign yourself to it – and then that year, all of a sudden, it DOES feel like Christmas again. Maybe it’s not the same as the first years, but you still have that content, excited, joyful feeling. It’s back! You’ve reset your expectations to the reality, and now you can enjoy it again.
But. Now you have new expectations. And one Christmas, you’ll realize that it didn’t feel like Christmas again.
I was kind of expecting that to happen this year. But as I write this, it’s 7 PM on Christmas day, and today was one of the nicest Christmas’s I have ever have. I hope all of yours was as joyful as mine! And while the presents themselves have nothing to do with the joy you get out of Christmas, I know – I still want to hear your favorite gifts received! I got lots of jewelry, lots of really big sweaters (my family knows me, what can I say!), a Tardis mug (there was a LOT of Doctor Who stuff under the tree this year), a Starbucks giftcard, and last but definitely not least – these heels, in silver, from my sister. Did I almost start crying when I saw them? Well, I think I won’t comment on that.
I am pretty in love with this sweater, so I knew I had to save it for Christmas. I got inspiration from this fantastic outfit from Sidewalk Ready. I was going to wear my light brown ankle boots, but at the last moment, though I looked all around my room and everywhere else they might be, I could not find them. So I borrowed my sister’s again.
ImageImageImageImageImageImage

Shirt: Old Navy.
Sweater: Old Navy. Found here.
Necklace: Banana Republic.
Pants: Gap. Similar here.
Boots: Thrifted. Similar here.
Necklace: Banana Republic.
Earrings: Kohls.
Watch: My mom’s.

P.S. Do you know what would be a great Christmas present? If you scrolled up and clicked on the right side of this page to follow the blog on Facebook or Bloglovin’. 😉

One thought on “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas.

I'd love to get to know you - leave me a comment!

