Colorful Compliments.

Everyone knows that getting compliments is nice. For me, having a fashion blog, compliments about what I’m wearing are the best ones. When they come from strangers – well, it’s not something that happens a lot, but when it does, nothing is better. And that’s in rural Wisconsin, where a well-dressed person is about as rare as snow in June. No, seriously, in the teeny town where I live, those are both equally as likely.
Contrastingly, since I’ve been in California, I have to admit that I often find myself thinking, “what right do I have to have a fashion blog? most of the people I see in the street are better dressed than I am.” So perhaps you’ll understand why I came close to tears when someone who passed me on the street today stopped me and said “excuse me, but you look like you just stepped out of Pinterest.”
This outfit was more colorful than is normal for me, but when I looked at the pictures afterwards, I kind of wished I’d had a red belt or red nails – and not just because it’s Valentine’s day. Oh, happy Valentine’s day, by the way.

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

Shirt: Old Navy. Similar here.
Jeans: Marshalls.
Shoes: Marshalls. Similar here.
Belt: With a dress. Similar here.
Necklace: Banana Republic.
Earrings: Kohls.

7 thoughts on “Colorful Compliments.

  1. Perfect example of why you don’t need a million things confusing your outfit to look good, and why, if you know how to put together an outfit, you don’t need to spend $120 on a pair of trousers.

  2. This is cute (I would not have the guts to try to pull off yellow pants and yet you make it look so chic and easy!). I like how it looks here and look forward to seeing you try it with a red belt and/or nails in the future. I often find there are things I could do differently with my outfits too, but those ideas can lead to whole new outfits.

    It is disheartening but totally understandable that you might sometimes feel like “why should I have a fashion blog.” I think everyone who blogs feels that way sometimes. It can be hard to remember that it is for you and your journey, not a contest to see how is Best Dressed (which means different thing to different ppl anyway!) I love that you were told you looked like you came out of Pinterest though! What a fun compliment!

  3. Such a cute outfit! I love your polka dot chambray! When people compliment me or say I’ve inspired them in some way I am always amazed. I am still learning and constantly inspired by others. It’s always a special feeling. Yay for compliments! But you deserve them! You look fantastic in this! 🙂

  4. You rock those yellow jeans! And I’m super jealous of your sunshine – it’s been nothing but rain and wind here for a week now.
    I know what you mean about doubting your “right” to have a fashion blog. I feel like that sometimes, until I remind myself that I’m not trying to teach anybody anything. I’m just documenting my outfits as a way of expressing myself, almost like keeping a journal, and if somebody happens to be inspired by it, all the better.

I'd love to get to know you - leave me a comment!

