18 Month Blogging Anniversary

It’s that time again. Every six months I look back at my outfits from the past six months, pick some favorites and least favorites, and examine the way my style has progressed. Each time I do this, I have more outfits that I like and less that I dislike, which is cheering. My style has been undergoing some changes lately, and I think my wardrobe is finally starting to catch up. I’m wearing more and more outfits that I feel fit my style, though I definitely still have some mess-ups. But before I get to those, here are some looks that were a little bit out of my comfort zone or that I hadn’t tried before.

Image
This outfit pushed me out of my comfort zone on multiple levels. Wearing just black and white can be intimidating, and with the beret added to it, I couldn’t help feeling a little bit costume-y. This was also one of the first times I’d worn tights with shorts. However, I did like how it turned out. Original post here.
Image
Pattern mixing, brown and gray, pink and blue – this was out of my comfort zone for multiple reasons as well, and I’m not sure just how much I liked it – but I think it worked. Original post here.
Image
Before I started this blog, I never would have thought of wrapping this sweater around, securing it with a belt,  and wearing it with leggings. And then adding a pop of sequins?! I think this look definitely portrays the way my style has grown in leaps and bounds since I started blogging. Original post here.

Now onto the more unpleasant task of picking my least favorite outfits from the last few months.
Image
Somehow I never like outfits that this shirt is part of. I always think I’m going for the cool, over-sized look, but it turns out sloppy. This look was just boring and not at all put together. Original post here.
Image
This is another sloppy, casual look that was great in my head but didn’t turn out well. Slouchy jeans, t-shirt, sweatshirt – it just didn’t work for me. Plus, majorly bad hair day. Original post here.
Image
There is nothing really wrong with this outfit other than that it doesn’t fit my style at all. Too matchy-matchy, too girly, too something. It wasn’t me, so I didn’t feel happy about it. Original post here.

Okay, enough with that. Here are a few of my absolute favorite outfits that I wore in the last six months. I think the reason they all stand out to me are because they all seem like outfits, instead of just pieces of clothing thrown together. They are complete looks.
Image
Some outfits I plan for weeks in advance. Some outfits I thrown on the morning of. It was the latter in the case of this outfit, but I really loved the shape and the colors, and I felt ridiculously warm and comfortable. Original post here.
Image
This outfit felt complete and put together. I loved the dusky colors with a pop of orange, and all the pieces worked well together. Original post here.
Image
Polka dot chambray and mustard skinnies – need I say more? Original post here.
Image
This is a recent outfit, but it is one of my favorites that I have ever worn. I love love everything about it: the silhouette, the colors, the layers. It’s just very pleasing to the eye – at least my eye. Original post here.

I’d love to hear from you – which were your favorites or least favorites?
One last thing – during the past six months, I’ve also had some big spikes in my stats, and I’ve gained quite a few new followers. So to all of you, thank you so much for taking an interest in what I’m doing, and tagging along through the good outfits and the bad. I cannot express how much I appreciate everyone who has ever taken the time to visit my blog, and I hope you stick around for another six months!
(If you’d like to follow Country Girl, City Fashion too, you can do so on Facebook or Bloglovin’.)

11 thoughts on “18 Month Blogging Anniversary

  1. Happy 18 month anniversary 😛 gotta love blogging 🙂

    as for your question about lulus – I have two pairs of shoes from them – one of them are Madden Girl heels which I really like. The others are cheaper sandals which I still really like but I wouldn’t’ spend a day touring a city in them. Lulus carries lots of different brands and a few different price points (from what I remember from shopping on their site – I’d google the individual brands maybe?) Hope that helps!

  2. You have really shown dedication to the blog, which alone commands praise and my deepest respect.. The things that I have noticed the most since I started following your ‘style journey’ are that: you’re committed to showing us your taste is mature, and lady-like, you do take full advantage of matching your outfit to fit your mood, and while you try different things and sometimes ‘come out of your shell’, everything you’ve shown us is consistent with the path you are trying to follow.. Some of my favorites are those pictures/outfits from the California trip.. Here you went to great lengths to express how good it felt to get away from the brutal cold.. As for the cold-weather outfits, I adore the one with the ‘fox’ sweater! Keep up the great work 😉

  3. I just found your blog and like it very much 🙂
    I like the last outfit and the one before it the most. You have some interesting outfits on the blog 🙂

  4. Wow, your reflections on your style choices are very well thought out. My favorite is the one with the fox swear, though I liked the one with the jeans as well.

    The beret one is a bit… costumey. I’ve never found a way to wear a beret without looking costumey though.

  5. Well done on a blogging milestone!

    I have to say, that first outfit with the shorts and beret – just adorable, love it!! I need to dig out my shorts, they look great with tights and perfect for this very changeable weather we’ve been having (I’m in Wales in the UK, but it sounds like you too have been experiencing Spring, oh no, Winter again, ooo Spring’s back, no, too soon, Winter’s still here….!). P x

I'd love to get to know you - leave me a comment!

