Stuck in a Rut.

I’m honestly too embarrassed to admit how much time I spent yesterday trying on clothing in an effort to find an outfit to wear to dinner that I really liked. Suffice it to say, I’m definitely not out of my outfit rut yet. I’m not sure exactly what the problem is, but I’m just having a really difficult time putting together looks that are consistent with my style. But I’m not going to stop trying! I wasn’t completely satisfied with this outfit, but I figured it was as good as it was going to get.
I think the weather is at least part of the problem. It just can’t make up its mind. After a few days of warmth, we’re back to boots weather, with the forecast looking foreboding. sigh. Come on, summer.

ImageImageImage
I always have a hard time making myself spend money on jewelry, so a new piece is a big deal. I’m in love with this simple and sophisticated necklace – I think it can add so much to any outfit, and I’m excited to style it in a million different ways.
ImageImageImageImageImage

Dress: Old Navy. Similar here and here.
Sweater: My mom’s. Similar here.
Boots: Famous Footwear. Found here.
Belt: Came with a dress. Similar here.
Leggings: Marshalls. Similar here.
Socks: Kohls. Similar here.
Necklace: Rue21.
Earrings: A gift.
Bangles: Kohls. Similar here.

Linking up with Favorite Fashion Friday, Friday’s Fab Favorites, Casual Friday, Passion For Fashion, Fashion Friday.

6 thoughts on “Stuck in a Rut.

  1. I like it! the boots look a little strange but I think that is just me and my style and my cravings for summer! I really like the cardigan and the outfit as a whole looks awesome (including the hair-do).

  2. I think you may feel like you’re “in a rut”, but I’d keep this outfit in mind for September – or, whenever the weather starts to turn cooler… This outfit says ‘Fall’ to me, but the boots are the only item that have that earthy kind of tone 🙂

  3. That necklace is so cool! If you’re in a bad rut and haven’t done this yet, I totally recommend going through your closet and getting rid of everything you don’t think fits your style anymore/you don’t think you’ll wear. Then make a list of things you need, set a budget, and take your list a little at a time! I’ve been overhauling my wardrobe for the past few months because I was feeling the SAME way–and I’m almost 100% happy with everything I have!

    xo Kimi

  4. I really like the mix of cognac, black, and denim in this outfit. And I agree, this long winter or cold spring (however you want to term it) has really made it hard to think of outfits. So glad the weather is warming up finally!

  5. It’s a rainy day here so I’m taking advantage of being stuck indoors and will be ruthlessly going through my wardrobe later – I too have been feeling stuck in a rut with some items that I don’t think suit ‘me’ anymore.

    Have to say though, this outfit is lovely! I love how the cream of the cardigan is picked out by the knee high socks peeking out of the boots, and the denim and browns and golds all work really well together. Lovely!

    Visiting today via #passionforfashion linkup. P x

  6. hi im the long boot wearing male. I love the boots with the socks sticking out above…..yummy…keep the boots even when the sun arrives

I'd love to get to know you - leave me a comment!

