Menswear Inspired

So I’ve mentioned my re-discovered obsession with neutrals, mainly the color beige, and when I found this shirt in one of my sister’s drawers, I knew I had to borrow it. I could seriously talk about this shirt for hours. It’s so soft and drapey and light and perfect. Perfect material, perfect color, perfect size. I may need to borrow it long-term. You’re okay with that, right Sara?
I decided to style it very simply this time, playing up the menswear inspired side of the blouse with skinny jeans and oxfords. At first I was going to wear a tan and white polka dot scarf, but that ended up being too much for me, and I liked the more simple look of the beige tie (which is actually a belt from a jacket).

94 blog pic 294 blog pic 394 blog pic 6
I can’t believe I haven’t worn these oxfords in over two months. Yes, they invariably give me blisters, but I always love how they look with everything. Maybe I’ll get more use out of them when it’s colder and I can wear socks and tights.
94 blog pic 5
Along with neutrals and accessories, I’ve been growing fond of details lately. I think the little things can make an outfit. Also, I don’t think something has to be glaringly visible from 15 feet away for it to be interesting and beautiful – the more understated, simplistic pieces are even more special. I think this is especially true for jewelry, so in light of that, I wore this bracelet on my blog for the first time today. It’s small and simple, but I think it’s beautiful, and it fit the mood of the outfit really well. The pop of green was just right. Plus, my brother gave it to me, so it has some sentimental value as well.
94 blog pic 794 blog pic 4

Shirt: Forever21.
Jeans: Old Navy. Similar here.
Shoes: Famous Footwear. Similar here.
Tie: A belt on a jacket.
Earrings: My sister’s. Similar here.
Ring: My sister’s.
Bracelet: A gift.

Linking up with Monday Bloom, Manic Monday, and Monday Morning Gossip.

3 thoughts on “Menswear Inspired

I'd love to get to know you - leave me a comment!

