Mix It: Floral Dress

Life is pretty good right now. I feel like I’m at a good place, and I feel less anxiety, fear, and dread of the future than I have in a long, long time. After a less than spectacular summer, for perhaps the first time in my life, I am looking forward to fall and winter. I’m not saying I’m any more a fan of cold, and snow, and all that – but I’m not trying to keep summer with me as long as possible. I’m ready for this summer to be over, and for a new season to start. I have a job that I am extremely grateful for, and I have a lot of things to look forward to: in October, I get to visit my sister, and spend a week in San Diego; in November, I get to visit my aunt in Boston; and in December, I get to go to a Packers game. The long term future is still scary, but now that I can see at least a few more steps ahead of me, I feel like I have a little bit of control over my life, and as if I can handle it.
In my last post, I said that fall was definitely here, and that the hecticness of that week was over. Well, by my absence since that post (1 week between posts? Whaa), and from my outfit in this one (the cardigan wasn’t even on for most of the day!) you may be able to tell that neither of those turned out to be completely true. Last week was nearly as crazy as the one before, and even the air itself truly felt like summer this weekend. The weather switching back and forth can make getting dressed difficult – on the days that I’m prepared for cold, layers, and boots, it’s 75, and on the days I’m ready for bare legs and sandals, it’s 55. I guess this will teach me to take each day as it comes, one by one.
Speaking of this outfit – I feel like I’m constantly wearing this dress, and like I’ve run out of ways to style it, but in truth, I haven’t worn it on the blog for more than a year. So here it is! At the end of this post, I have a collage of all the different ways I’ve styled it in the past (please don’t laugh at the photography – at least I know that’s improved!) – let me know which look you like the best!

103 blog pic 2103 blog pic 3103 blog pic 6103 blog pic 5103 blog pic 1103 blog pic 4103 blog pic 7
Second outfit, third outfit, fourth outfit, and fifth outfit.

Dress: JCPenney. Similar here and here.
Sweater: Old Navy. Similar here.
Scarf: Made by a friend.
Shoes: Clarks. Similar here.
Earrings: Kohls. Similar here.
Bracelet: A gift.
Necklace: Modcloth.
Ring: Old Navy.

Linking up with Monday Bloom, Mix It Monday, Let It Shine, Manic Monday, and Monday Morning Gossip.

6 thoughts on “Mix It: Floral Dress

  1. I can see why you are wearing this dress so much! The ruffle at the bottom is adorable and it’s such a pretty print and color! It sounds like you have a lot to look forward to!

  2. I love the ring paired with this dress! I think this is my favorite look too, though the one with the leggings and sandals is also lovely, in a breezy, summery kind of way.

I'd love to get to know you - leave me a comment!

