Be Still

You might look at these pictures and say, “Come now, Rebecca, isn’t this layering a little excessive? Weren’t you in short sleeves and bare legs less than a week ago?” To which I would respond – yes. Yes, I was. But seeing as it snowed the morning I wore this (I slept late enough that it was all gone by the time I got up – thank goodness for Saturdays!), I don’t think I was going too far overboard with this outfit. This is Wisconsin, after all. 80s one week, and snow the next. I am proud of myself, however, for managing not to wear any of my boots till October.
I did refuse to wear a coat, hoping that this warm jean jacket would suffice. It did, for the most part, though deciding to walk along a river front may not have been a great idea. Then I ended up sitting outside in the wind and cold for about half an hour, and I realized that there are two options for dealing with this kind of cold. I could either shiver and fight against it, remaining tense and closed up – and that’s what I did at first. Or I could just open up and stop struggling against it, accepting it and letting it soak into me. That’s what I eventually turned to, and it felt so wonderful and refreshing, adjusting and getting used to the cold air.
It seemed fitting when I got back into my car (and gratefully turned on the heat), that the first song to play on my iPod was “Be Still,” by The Fray. It reminded me that you need to be still and embrace what is around you, living each moment as it comes, and accepting the good and the bad.

108 blog pic 2108 blog pic 1108 blog pic 7108 blog pic 4108 blog pic 5
Confession: I have only bought two purses in my life. I’ve gotten hand-me-downs from my sister or mom, and I’ve been given some clutches, but I’ve only ever paid money for a real, every day bag twice. TWICE. I have no idea why it’s so hard for me, but I find it so overwhelming. Either I never find one I like, or there are way too many that I like, and they always cost too much. Plus, there’s so much pressure, since I’ll be using it every day!
All this to say, I recently bought my third, and I’m pretty much in love with it. It was only $25, and it’s a little less summer-y than my former tan shoulder bag (which I’m definitely not giving up altogether). While I wasn’t able to convince myself to move away from neutral colors, at least it’s two-toned, and that’s a little more interesting! What do you think? Do you find buying purses and bags difficult, or am I the only one?
108 blog pic 6108 blog pic 8108 blog pic 9
Here are all the different ways I’ve styled this dress in the past. Which look is your favorite?
Second outfit, third outfit, fourth outfit.

Dress: Thrifted. Similar here, here, and here.
Jacket: Loft. Similar here.
Scarf: My mom’s. Similar here.
Boots: Famous Footwear. Found here.
Leggings: Pink Zone. Similar here.
Socks: Kohls. Similar here.
Belt: Came with a dress. Similar here.
Purse: G.H. Bass. Similar here and here.
Earrings: A gift.

Linking up with Monday Bloom, Let It Shine, Monday Morning Gossip, Mix It Monday, and Manic Monday.

Follow Country Girl, City Fashion on Facebook and Bloglovin.

12 thoughts on “Be Still

  1. Hi Rebecca, I love those brown riding boots….It’s not fair us men cannot wear long boots openly in public……..I’d love to wear those lovely brown boots with jeans tucked in…

  2. It freaking snowed?! Wow. And it’s still in the upper 80’s here for the next two weeks. I’m so looking forward to when I can wear riding boots again…

  3. Oh my goodness I have the worst trouble buying bags too! Bags are such an investment because I want ones that I will love and keep forever, so it will take me years to find a good one! Right now I’m on the lookout for a travel bag; I love the style and size of yours it would be a perfect travel bag!

  4. I can’t believe you got snow!! Ahhh! I’m the same way about bags, honestly. I can never find exactly what I’m looking for, and I’m at the point in my life where I don’t want to settle for just anything. So yeah, I know how overwhelming bag shopping can be!

    xo Kimi

  5. You look great!!! You already getting snow? Amazing. I actually really feeling this look…so that is my pick, but all of the looks look great! I always purchased my purses, but I could never spend a certain amount on purse and it all due to comfort. I’m sure in time you will find a happy medium 🙂

    Kreyola Jounerys | Instagram

I'd love to get to know you - leave me a comment!

