Two Year Blogiversary

My blogiversary is actually tomorrow, but I’m doing the post a day early so I don’t have to post on Saturday. I’m torn between amazement that I’ve been posting on this blog for two years and disbelief that there was ever a time when I wasn’t doing it. It has become such a big and wonderful part of my life, and I feel like I’ve just recently been growing so much more comfortable and confident in it. For awhile I kind of lost sight of what I was actually trying to do, and started to focus so much on designing outfits, and making sure I wore completely different pieces in each post, and that everything was interesting and extremely “blog worthy.” But I started blogging two years ago to document the outfits I wore, to maybe provide a little bit of inspiration for a few people, and to expand and grow in my style. I think I’m re-focusing on that again, which has brought back the love I originally had for doing this. I’m realizing, more than I ever have, that I’m doing this for me, and that it doesn’t matter if 2 people read my posts, or 200. I know that my style has grown and improved a ridiculously huge amount in the last two years – so this has all been worth it. I can’t wait to see what the next year brings!
Every 6 months I like to go back and look through the outfits that I posted in that time, picking out my favorites and least favorites. I really enjoy reading these kinds of posts on other blogs, and it’s really fun to do myself, so hopefully you enjoy, and let me know your favorites. Or if you’re terribly bored, you can just skip this post. 😉 I’m going to start with three outfits that made me go out of my comfort zone or try something that I hadn’t before.

80 blog pic 1
The fact that I was wearing leopard print flats made this outfit more exciting in and of itself, and for the first time, I paired them another fairly prominent pattern – polka dots. I was also wearing a pencil skirt, and while I love them, I don’t wear them too often, so all in all, this was just a look that stretched my style. Original outfit post here.102 blog pic 1
Leopard print flats again! I mentioned when I posted this outfit that whenever I caught sight of my reflection in the mirror, I didn’t recognize myself. I’m not exactly sure why, but I figured that it just showed how my style has advanced. Original outfit post here.
100 blog pic 9
Everything about this outfit felt unlike my usual style, and I absolutely loved all of it. It felt very “blogger-y,” but I can only wish that I was the kind of person who wore this every day. As it is, I enjoyed stepping outside of myself and pretending that I was someone quite different for a night. I think this outfit exemplifies how my style has evolved, in two years, and even the past six months. Original outfit post here.

Now to my least favorite outfits from the past months. *shudder*
83 blog pic 2
Boring. Boxy. That’s all. Original outfit post here.
77 blog pic 2
I thought that wearing a long, over-sized shirt with my shortest shorts would make for an interesting outfit. I was wrong. Original outfit post here.
98 blog pic 1
I think what I’ve learned from these posts is that putting random and unexciting pieces of clothing together does not result in a good outfit. I like casual and simple looks, but I have to love what I’m wearing, and I just didn’t in any of these outfits. Also, I think the silhouettes weren’t quite right in any of these. Original outfit post here.
Now that’s over with, I can move on to a more pleasant subject – my favorite outfits from the last six months. As usual, I had a really had time narrowing it down. I liked many of my outfits about equally, and there weren’t that many that stood out to me – I’m not sure if that’s a good or a bad thing?
112 blog pic 1
Sometimes my favorite outfits are ones that I have to work at for awhile. Other times, they’re the ones I throw on at the last minute. That’s what I did with this outfit, and I felt so classic and put together in it. Original outfit post here.
108 blog pic 8
I think I liked this outfit because I just really liked all of the different pieces in it – jean jacket, riding boots, pretty dress. How could I not love an outfit that combined them all? Original outfit post here.
65 blog pic 2
This outfit was simple, but it felt interesting and classy, as well as pushing me a little out of my comfort zone. Original outfit post here.
62 blog pic 1
And lastly, the outfit I wore in my 200th post. I absolutely adore all the soft colors and the feminine feel – it’s one of those looks that just feels inspired. Definitely one of my favorite looks. Original outfit post here.
There’s no great conclusion I can draw from my favorite outfits – I just liked ones that felt complete and put together. Hopefully I can keep creating those in the future, and I hope you stick around for them! A profound thank you to each and every person who has ever taken the time to check out this blog, and I’d love it if you followed along via Facebook or Bloglovin.

8 thoughts on “Two Year Blogiversary

  1. Congratulations on two years!! 🙂 That’s so exciting! I noticed some thing about your most favorite outfits: you’re wearing a scarf in three of the four, you’re wearing either a skirt or dress in all of them, and you’re also wearing belts! They also feel very sweet & feminine to me. I think you’re nailing down your personal style! 😉

    xo Kimi

  2. Congratulations! I always look forward to receiving your email post!
    You do a great job putting outfits together and I enjoy reading what you have to say.
    Hugs
    LaDonna

I'd love to get to know you - leave me a comment!

