Red and Teal

For this outfit, I did the opposite of what I did in my last post. Instead of relying on new pieces that I particularly love, I made myself put together an outfit from older, less exciting pieces that I’m not all that crazy about. This dress can feel  unflattering and frumpy, but since I hadn’t worn it in awhile, I decided to try my best to find a way to style it. Red and teal has always been a color combination that I’ve wanted to try, but I only own two or three red things, since it isn’t at all my color. Though I’ve had this cardigan since I started blogging, I’ve only worn it on the blog once, and that was almost two years ago. I put the two pieces together, and I loved how the colors looked together, but the outfit still needed a lot of work. Thanks goodness for the magic of accessories! When I added leggings, socks, boots, and a belt, I liked it much better – but it still needed that something. None of my scarves looked quite right, and I decided to see if I had the perfect necklace that could complete and pull together the whole look. I couldn’t think of any off the top of my head, but then I found, under a pile of things on my dresser (don’t judge me), this necklace. My new (and new favorite) necklace, that I had completely forgotten about since the last time I wore it (Christmas day), that matched my dress perfectly. I put it on, and viola – a complete outfit that I could feel good about. I’m not saying it’s going to be on my list of favorites, but I also don’t think it’s going to be on my list of fails. What do you think of this color combo? 13 blog pic 2 13 blog pic 4 13 blog pic 513 blog pic 3

Dress: My sister’s.
Sweater: My sister’s. Similar here and here.
Boots: Kohls. Found here.
Leggings: Pink Zone. Similar here.
Belt: Came with a dress. Similar here.
Necklace: Old Navy. Similar here.
Earrings: My sister’s. Similar here.
Bracelets: A gift.

Linking up with What I Wore, Random Wednesday, I Feel Pretty, WIWW, Whatcha Wearing Wednesday, Oh Hey Girl, Style Me Wednesday, and What I Wore Wednesday.

4 thoughts on “Red and Teal

  1. I never thought to pair teal with red! I don’t actually own anything teal so I can’t recreate it, come to think of it, I don’t have much red either! haha This is a lovely outfit!

I'd love to get to know you - leave me a comment!

