Opinions, Please

I ran out of time trying to plan an outfit yesterday morning, so I threw this on right before I went out the door. I wasn’t sure how it looked, but I braved the ten degree weather (much cooler than what I’ll usually suffer through for outfit pictures, but there wasn’t any wind, so I survived) to take pictures. I looked at them afterwards, not knowing what to expect, and was pretty disappointed. I felt cute in this outfit, but in my opinion, it was all in my head. I wasn’t even considering posting it, but then I showed it to my sister, as I usually do with my rejects, and she started gushing about it. I’m definitely still not convinced, but since it was either this or no post, here it is! I’m truly curious to hear your honest opinion – do you think this outfit works? I think the heavy, shapeless sweater with the full skirt and clunky boots wasn’t a great choice, but I will say that it kept me really warm!

17 blog pic 117 blog pic 217 blog pic 517 blog pic 417 blog pic 3
Here are the ways I’ve styled this chambray dress before. Which look do you like best?
17 blog pic 6
Second outfit, third outfit.

Dress: Old Navy. Similar here.
Sweater: Old Navy. Similar here.
Boots: Thrifted. Similar here.
Tights: Kohls. Similar here.
Socks: Kohls. Similar here.
Necklace: Loft. Similar here.

Linking up with Let It Shine, Manic Monday, and Mix It Monday.

14 thoughts on “Opinions, Please

  1. Hi Rebecca,
    You look adorable in this outfit. You could wear a flour sack and would look good! Before your and my time.
    Don’t be so hard on yourself sweet lady.
    You were brave to go out in those temps!

  2. I have when I’m loving an outfit and then I see it in a picture and it’s not as cute as I was feeling. But your outfit is totally cute! Sister’s know best! πŸ™‚ I always send pictures of outfits I’m unsure of to my sister too and she’ll tell me if I should post them or not. What would we do without our sisters?!

    http://www.kaciesklosetblog.com/

  3. I’m totally with your sister here–I really love this look! I think my favorite parts are the details–the pretty necklace, the colored tights and those cute booties! Worth braving the cold for sure! πŸ™‚

  4. I know what you mean when it comes to not mixing big sweaters with big shoes. But, I think the shoes aren’t too chunky for the sweater. I really like the outfit!

  5. I loved your demi dress with you wearing your green tights with your black boots.I also liked your second and third pictures with you wearing both your nude and brown stiletto pumps, I believe glossy suntan, nude or black tights would of looked much more lovelier than being barelegged. Please accept my feedback as encouragement only, hope to see more in the future.

  6. Better to have posted and lost than never to have posted (this day).

    It all looks pretty good except the chambray dress. It looks like you left your too long shirt untucked (especially highlighted by the buttons). I suspect the fault lies with the sweater coming below your waist and not having defined a cutoff. The sweater is nice and looks right with you, your hair, complexion and the weather in general…particularly well matched with that necklace.

    With your legs, tights or anything else that shows them off are never ‘wrong’. However, the color of these leggings in relation to the chambray’s color and given the lack of boundary at the waist create a sort of fading run-on southward. The chambray looks good in the other two outfit photos. I do think that it looks breezily out of place in context of the snow and dormant grass.

    It’s good that you posted because no one hits them all every time. This is no disaster, merely a slight off match and educational in that sense. If we never tried something a little weird at times it would be like always living in one season.

I'd love to get to know you - leave me a comment!

