Spring in Chicago

The day before I wore this, I was out in the evening with bare legs and arms and felt perfectly warm. That made me optimistic enough to go with (two) florals, pastels, and bare legs again the next day, and I may have ended up just a little bit frozen. But no regrets! If the trees are going to put on their spring attire, so am I!
I spent this weekend with my sister and a friend. We spent one night in a hotel in Chicago, so we got to do lots of walking around downtown. That’s one of my favorite activities, and I got to do it with some of my favorite people, so it was a beautiful few days. There’s nowhere I’d rather be in the spring – or basically any time, for that matter. I do love my city.

31 blog pic 1 31 blog pic 231 blog pic 331 blog pic 6
Let’s address the elephant – or should I say, cat – in the room. This bag. Isn’t it the most adorable/terrifying/amazing thing ever?! My lovely friend, Susie, bought it for me, and I couldn’t be more grateful. I was expecting to use it more as a joke, but it’s actually the perfect size, and not nearly as scary as I was expecting it to be. Multiple people complimented me on it when I used it, too – I mean, come on, it’s a cat purse. What could be better?
31 blog pic 5 31 blog pic 4 31 blog pic 7

Dress: Thrifted. Similar here and here.
Sweater: Old Navy. Similar here and here.
Scarf: Maurices. Similar here and here.
Shoes: Similar here and here.
Belt: Came with a dress. Similar here.
Earrings: My mom’s. Similar here.
Bag: A gift. Similar here.

Linking up with Manic Monday, How I Spring, Let It Shine, and What I Wore.

12 thoughts on “Spring in Chicago

  1. Hi Rachael,
    You look a bit rosy in your face.. The cat bag is adorable. I’d carry that and I know my daughter would. We are cat peeps. Love your scarf with the sweater. Very nice!

  2. What a pretty look, I love these pretty colors and patterns together! I did the same thing–got a little spring-happy and froze my legs off today!! Oh well. That sounds like fun hanging out and shopping in downtown Chicago! My husband and I are thinking of making a trip there this summer.

  3. Ooooh I love this outfit! The dress with the menswear style shoes is a great combination! And the cat purse is hilarious! Definitely a conversation piece!

  4. That cat purse was so unexpected — I nearly spit out my water. I love everything about it! It went from ultra warm here to ultra chilly in a matter of days. I’m back to a winter coat, but I admire your resolve!

    (P.S. If you’re interested, I’m giving away a Helen Ficalora pendant for Mother’s Day. Enter here.)

I'd love to get to know you - leave me a comment!

