2.5 Years!

Two and a half years is totally an important blogging anniversary, right? I’m halfway to five! Which is halfway to ten! Okay, so I know it’s not that big of a deal, but I decided I might as well have a mini-celebration. Which involved me writing this paragraph. Done now.
Every six months I like to look back at the outfits that I’ve posted during that time, and pick out a few of my favorite and least favorite looks. I love it when other bloggers do this, but I understand if it sounds horribly boring to you, so feel free to skip this post if you’re not interested. Anyway, I’ve done that again today, but first, here are some outfits that forced me to try something new or step out of my comfort zone.

119 blog pic 5
My friend Leah is mostly responsible for this look. We have very different styles, so it’s no surprise that when I asked her to put together an outfit for me, it was something I’d never have thought of for myself. Yes, I may have made it more suited to my style by removing some of the extra colors and patterns that she originally suggested, but I never would have thought to pair green, navy, and black like this. I was really happy with how it turned out, but it was definitely something new for me.
Post found here.
13 blog pic 1
The reason this outfit makes the list is simple – putting together two bright colors like this is totally unexpected for me, and while it isn’t a particularly wild outfit, it’s still out of my comfort zone.
Post found here.
20 blog pic 2
This post is an example of going for something that I normally wouldn’t try, and being extremely happy with the results. The red tights with the houndstooth cardigan with the two-toned shoes – normally, that would be a little too much for me. I was torn when putting it together, but I’m so glad I went for it, because I really like the overall look.
Post found here.

Now on to my least favorites from the last six months; one thing I noticed about all of them is that I realized that they were lacking something. I had doubts either while wearing them or when I looked at the pictures afterward, and I questioned whether I should post them. At least this means I’m beginning to realize when things don’t work; hopefully this will help me to avoid them altogether in the future.
5 blog pic 1
I think this outfit probably would have been just fine if it had been warm enough for me to go bare-legged. As it was, there was just too much gray.
Post found here.
120 blog pic 2
I’m conflicted about this outfit. Overall, I think I dislike it just because I don’t like this sweater. It’s probably time for it to leave my closet.
Post found here.
17 blog pic 1
When I looked at pictures of this outfit, I immediately hated it, and had no intention of posting it. Then I showed it to my sister, and she loved it, and convinced me that it was indeed blogworthy. Honestly, I still don’t agree with her, but I did feel pretty good about it while I was wearing it, and I guess that’s what really matters. What do you guys think about these outfits? Did they work, or were they lacking something?
Post found here.

Okay, now it’s time for my favorite outfits. Yay!
14 blog pic 2
Considering how many times I’d worn it before I actually got pictures, this outfit kind of had to make the list. And, I mean, elbow patches? Yes, please.
Post found here.
8 blog pic 1
Sometimes my favorite outfits are the ones where I style a lot of old pieces in new and exciting ways. Sometimes, they’re the ones where I wear pieces that feel exciting because I’ve never worn them before. I’m not ashamed of that. I love this skirt, I love this shirt, and I love them together.
Post found here.
117 blog pic 3
Like the last one, I liked this outfit because both the skirt and the shoes were new, and I was really excited about them. The styling isn’t anything fancy, but it feels so put together to me. Can’t get enough of this.
Post found here.
6 blog pic 5
And finally, possibly my favorite outfit from the last six months. This was a combination of the things I mentioned above – not only did I wear some new items (and some of my favorite old ones), but I felt so good about the way I styled them. Plus, this was a really good day, and my puffer vest never fails to make me happy.
Post found here.

Looking back at these outfits, I feel like my style has gotten much more consistent. Few outfits stood out as really, REALLY good, or really, REALLY bad; instead, I felt more moderate about most of them. Also, while I still tried some things that I wouldn’t normally have done, I think I had a clearer idea of what would work and turn out well, which helped keep me from any truly horrible fails (in my opinion, anyway). I’d love to know – what were your favorites or least favorites of these outfits, or others that I’ve posted in the past?
Also, thanks so so much to all of you for reading along – I truly appreciate it. If you’re not already following, I invite you to do so on Facebook and Bloglovin!

11 thoughts on “2.5 Years!

  1. That outfit with the floral skirt! Gah! I love it! This recap is great, I really like your idea of talking about ways you stretched yourself with those first three. Happy 2.5 years!

  2. Congrats on 2.5 years! Actually my favorite outfit out of this bunch is from your “least favorite” pile – the one with the chambray dress and white sweater. I think it’s adorable. Although the floral pencil skirt and chambray shirt one is gorgeous too.

  3. Congratulations, lady!! 🙂 I love recaps like these too (though I never pick out my least favorite, haha). I also really like the chambray and floral skirt–you look SO happy so I can imagine how good you felt wearing that. 🙂

    xo Kimi

  4. Hurray for 2 1/2 years! This is a great outfit recap. There are so many cute ones! I love the one with the floral skirt and the one with the navy puffer vest!

  5. The 3rd and 4th outfits are my favorite. You look so pretty and Congrats on those years that you’ve been blogging. Hope you’re finding more inspiration in the blogging world ❤

    Looking forward to see more of your posts. Do you have an instagram account? Maybe we could follow each other. Let me know by leaving a comment on my blog or sending me a request. I'll follow back 🙂 Thanks!

    IG: @shairangelique

    Have a nice day!

    xoxo,
    SHAIRA
    http://www.missdream-girl.blogspot.com

I'd love to get to know you - leave me a comment!

